Schreiber Public Library

Databases

 

Schreiber Public Library Collection  Access our library's catalogue to see what new materials have been added.  Also access your account to renew your books, over dues etc. 
Ancestry Library Edition One of the most important genealogical collections
available today. Free access from library.
AskON  askON is a real-time chat information service that offers immediate, interactive, and knowledgeable research and reference help on-line.

Audio Book Cloud  (Formerly TumbleTalkingBooks) is a collection of online audio books for all ages. There are over 1000 titles in categories such as classics, fiction, non-fiction, children’s books, read-along and audio books.
Bartleby.com Publishes thousands of free online classics of reference, literature and nonfiction. 
Also view Quotations at Bartleby.
Canada411 People finder or lookup businesses quickly within Canada using the telephone directory, people search, area code finder, or reverse phone lookup. 
Canada Post Online postal code search. 
The Canadian Encyclopedia Full text of the authoritative encyclopedia about Canada and its people, in English and French. 
Canadian Geographic Explore and discover Canada with Canadian Geographic Magazine online: Canadian Geographic Travel magazine and Canadian Geographic magazine. 
Canadian Points of View 100 key topics of interest to Canadian researchers, each with an overview (objective background/
/description), point (argument), counterpoint (opposing argument), and Critical Thinking Guide.


 Career Cruising This source provides occupation profiles, assessment tools and information about Canadian universities and colleges. Be sure to try the Career Matchmaker quiz!
Chronicle Journal  In Library Use - Please visit the library to view the Digital Edition of the Chronicle Journal.
CNIB  CNIB Library's web catalogue for persons with perceptual disabilities. 
CELA "Bookshare" Centre for Equitable Library Access provides access to media and reading materials for Canadians with print disabilities.  Must be registered with CNIB to use this service.
Consumer Health Complete Designed to support the information needs of patients, and to foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. From mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine.

Consumer Health French  Fournit des rapports faciles à lire avec des renseignements scientifiquement fondés dans le domaine de la santé. Ces rapports couvrant diverses maladies, conditions et traitements sont vérifiés par des médecins et reflètent les données les plus récentes.
Dictionary.com The world's most popular dictionary and thesaurus with definitions, synonyms, antonyms, idioms, word origins, quotes, audio pronunciations, example sentences etc.
EBSCO Host  EBSCO Host Resource Databases.
EBSCO Host Audiobooks If you are looking for great audio books try audiobooks on EBSCOhost. NetLibrary has migrated all of its audio book content to this new service with simplified search features. Transfer to your audio device in minutes.
EBook Collection  Visit eBooks on EBSCOhost and browse the downloadable fiction, non-fiction, biography and reference titles.  Transfer to your portable device or view instantly.
GreenFile  Collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.

GreyHouse Publishing  Features Canadian Almanac & Directory, Governments Canada, Financial Services Canada, Major Canadian Cities, Canadian Who's Who and many more.

Hobbies and crafts Detailed "how-to" instructions and creative ideas to meet the interests of virtually every hobby enthusiast.
Infobel Access to telephone listings around the world. 
Info-Go An online directory of government staff. 
InfoPlease A free, authoritative, and respected reference for Internet users, provides a comprehensive encyclopedia, almanac, atlas, dictionary, and more.
Le Grand Dictionnaire  A bilingual Canadian Dictionary. 
Mango  Mango is an online language-learning system that can help you learn languages like Spanish, French, Japanese, Brazilian Portuguese, German, Mandarin Chinese, Greek, Italian and more.

Nationa Film Board In Library Use - National Film Board of Canada offers hundreds of short films.
National Geographic  Locate nearly any place on Earth, search and print historical, weather, and population maps, and more with our dynamic atlas. 
NoveList  This database allows readers to search for their favourite authors or titles, and find others of similar interest.  Users can browse theme-oriented book lists at every reading level through Explore Fiction, and look for outstanding titles in Best Fiction.
NoveList K - 8  This branch of NoveList is suitable for kids.  Look up books by your favourite authors and discover new ones!
OneLook  Type in a word and search many dictionaries at once. Also has a reverse dictionary and translations. 
Our Ontario  Search across hundreds of sites – digital collections of libraries, archives, museums, historical societies, community groups, government agencies, and content organizations – in seconds.
OverDrive  Download Ebooks and Audio Books.  All you need is your library card.
Pebble Go
Information on over 225 animals and topics such as earth sciences, space, seasons and weather.
RefDesk  A free and family friendly web site that indexes and reviews quality, credible, and current web-based reference resources. 
Service Ontario  Information for businesses, education, training and much more.
Thesaurus  The largest and most trusted free online thesaurus brought to you by Dictionary.com. Quickly find synonyms and antonyms 
Teen Health and Wellness  Developed for teens providing curricular support and self-help on topics including diseases, drugs & alcohol, nutrition, mental and emotional health, cyber-literacy, family life, sexuality and more. Additional information for girls can be find at Resources for Girls.

Tumble Book  Collection of eBooks for children in grades K-6 (approximately). Existing children s books are licensed for use then animated using the existing illustrations and adding audio narration.

Tutorhunt Connecting private tutors and students. 
Wikipedia  Wikipedia is a free, web-based, collaborative, multilingual encyclopedia. Almost all of its articles can be edited by anyone with access to the site.
Yahoo Quotations  Find quotations from certain people, or special occasions and much more. 
World Book 
Provides access to a multitude of reference resources for school aged children. 
Academic Onefile
A premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources.
Agriculture This collection of more than 400 titles is focused on agriculture and its related fields: from practical aspects of farming to cutting edge scientific research in horticulture.
Business Economics This collection provides academic journals and
magazines focusing on topics in economics.
Chilton Library The most authoritative automotive repair information available to car owners. There are thousands of year, make and model combinations.
Communication and Mass Media Provides current and accurate information in full-text from journals focused on all aspects of the communications field.
Computer Database Computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications and the application of technology.
Canadian Periodicals Provides both Canadian and worldwide coverage of mainstream and academic periodicals, as well as 80 business journals.
Criminal Justice Whether studying to become a lawyer or law enforcement officer, paralegal, or for a career in Homeland Security, this collection rises to the challenge. Users will have access to more than 700 journals.
Culinary Arts Includes 150 of the major cooking and nutrition magazines from 1980 to present. Coverage includes thousands of searchable recipes, restaurant reviews, and industry information.
Diversity Studies Explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community.
Educator's 200 Includes over 250 titles covering the latest technologies, developments, instruction and coaching breakthroughs.
Environmental Studies and Policy Over 700 journals and 6 subject specific Delmar reference titles provide robust coverage of environmental issues and policies, including diverse perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policy makers, as well as corporate interests.
European Business Articles on Finance, Acquisitions, and Mergers, International Trade, Money Management, New Technologies and Products, Local and Regional Business Trends, Investments and Banking.
Expanded Academic ASAP From arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology, this database meets research needs across all academic disciplines.
fine arts and music Collection will provide your students with resources to support research in areas such as drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.
Garen, Landscape and Horticulture More than 80 journals focused on key issues in gardening, landscaping, and other areas of horticulture, with the addition of over 20 subject specific reference sources from Delmar, this collection provides information for gardening enthusiasts and professionals alike.
Gender Studies Collection of journals aims to provide balanced coverage of this significant aspect of our culture, covering topics as gender studies, family and martial issues, health aspects and many more.
General Business File Finance, Acquisitions and Mergers, International Trade, Money Management, New Technologies & Products, Local and Regional Business Trends, and Investments and Banking.
General OneFile Ultimate periodical resource, with more than 11,500 titles, and a great deal of full-text articles.
General Reference Gold General interest database that integrates a variety of sources - newspapers, reference books, magazines, and trade publications.
Science Collection
Over 120 mostly peer-reviewed journals covers subjects such as physics, astronomy, botany, biology & genetics, technology and astronomy.
Global Issues Presents a rich analysis of issues - social, political, military, economic, environmental, science related, health related, cultural - and headlines in world hot spots.
Grzimek's Animal Life Scientific reporting, coverage and illustrations, and serves as a major point of reference for researchers and students studying the animal kingdom.
Home Improvement Collection of home improvement focused titles, hobbyists and professional carpenters alike will immediately put their projects on a more solid foundation.
Hospitality, Tourism and Leisure More than 800 journals and 29 subject specific Delmar reference titles provide well-rounded coverage of both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism fields.
Information Science and Library Issues Content from more then 100 leading industry journals, provides current and accurate information for this fast-moving field.
Junior Edition Designed for students in junior high and middle school with access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.
Student Edition Periodical database designed for high school students with access to variety of indexed magazines, newspapers, podcasts, and reference books.
Insurance and Liability This collection, of journals, takes a broad view of this multimillion dollar industry, covering such topics as labor relations, mortgage banking, legal issues, and more.
Kids InfoBits Database developed especially for beginning researchers in Kindergarten through Grade 5.
LegalTrac Provides indexing for more than 800 titles including major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals and international legal journals.
Literature Resource Up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literacy criticism and reviews on more then 130,000 writers.
Military and Intelligence Composed of content from over 400 journals, which covers all aspects of the past and current state of military affairs.
National Newspaper Index Provides quick access to the indexing of America's top five newspapers in one seamless search.
Nursing and Allied Health All aspects of the Nursing profession -- from direct patient care to health care administration -- are covered.
Pop Culture Provides useful information for any researcher in a social science, history, art or liberal arts course.
Psychology Collection Over 100 mostly peer-reviewed journals provides a basic understanding of the study of the mind, emotions and how the human mind develops over time.
Religion and Philosophy This collection can research different religions, philosophies and how they impact our daily lives
Small Business Perfect for business schools and entrepreneurs, this compilation provides insights, tips, strategies and success stories.
Small business resource When starting a new business, entrepreneurs need all the help they can get. Access to Small Business Resource Center is like having experts on call 24 hours a day.
Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine Over 100 titles covering the fields of physical therapy and sports medicine.
U.S. History
This collection of mostly peer-reviewed journals provides balanced coverage of both current thought and events in U.S. History.
Vocations and Career Finding the right career can be a daunting and high stakes task: finding an appropriate institution of learning, job searching, and maintaining a career are all topics covered by this collection.
War and Terrorism A definitive periodical collection of hand selected titles for analysts, risk management professionals and students of military science, history, social science.
World History This collection provides well-rounded coverage of both the current thinking and events in World History, as well as scholarly work being established in the field.
World History A comprehensive online collection that uses an intuitive, Web-like interface to provide multicultural, global and research-based dynamic content that supports today’s history research requirements.
   

 

Links facebook tumblr. flickr YouTube Broadcast